Janabheri National Theatre Festival 2013 (JNTF)


The 1st Janabheri National Theatre Festival (JNTF-2013, organised by Janabheri, Thrissur in association with Ministry of Culture, New Delhi and Kerala Sangeetha Nataka Akademi will be held during April 23 – 27, 2013, at K.T.Muhammed Memorial Regional Theatre, Thrissur.

The JNTF, an exclusive theatre festival for the youth, strives to provide a platform for the works by young theatre directors below the age of 35 years. 

The festival will showcase the following plays:  

Fevicol  (Maidi’s Artist Association of Tribal, Jamshedpur, Jharkhand / Dir. Jeetrai Hansda / Hindi / 55 min)

The Chairs (Theatre Collective, Thrissur / Malayalam Adaptation of Eugene Ionesco's ‘The Chairs’ / Dir. Jyothirmayi Kurup / Malayalam / 60 min) 

Road to Redemption (Rangachethana, Thrissur / Dir. K.N.Prashanth / Malayalam / 60 min)

The Country Without A Post Office (EKTA – School of Drama & Repertory, Srinagar, Jammu & Kashmir / Dir. Muzammil Hayat Bhawani / written by Bhawani Bashir Yasir / Hindustani (Urdu / Hindi / 60 min)

STROLL (Based on the works of ‘Hamlet’ by William Shakespeare; ‘ Yerma’ by Lorca and ‘Black & White essay’ by Harold Pinter / Dir. Moon Moon Singh / English / 120 min)

Familiar Strangers (Unicorn Actors Studio, New Delhi / Playwright & Dir. Happy Ranajit / Hindi – English / 70 min)

White Hands (Ashirwad Rangamandal, Begusarai, Bihar / Dir. Amit Roushan / Hindi / 60 min)

The Youth Director Award, instituted by Janabheri from this year, for the promising young theatremakers from the national level who have made outstanding constribution to the contemporary Indian theatre scenario will be announced on the concludng day of the festival. 

The festival team includes Abhimanyu Vinayakumar (Festival Director), Jose Koshy (Technical Director) and M.V.Vinayakumar and Renu Ramanath (Festival Co-ordinators), guided by an Expert Committee comprising Abhilash Pillai and B.Ananthakrishnan. 

An Organising  Committee with P.C.Chacko MP as chairman and senior journalist M.P.Surendran as General Convener has been formed for conducting the festival. 


Post a Comment

Note: only a member of this blog may post a comment.